Warm Soda I Don't Wanna Grow Up

Release Date 04/21/2017

(Castle Face Records )

[javascript protected email address]

Within seconds of the dropping the needle you'll get the feeling of being in good hands: we have here another AP course in power-pop, delivered by our man Matthew Melton with the confidence and consistency of your favorite late night diner. The familiarity works as a curious device - this is directly in his wheelhouse, no sonic surprises whatsoever, yet somehow these odes to teenage love and heartache are brand new, catchy and vital. His twists and turns utilizing the same tools are frankly astounding in their continued freshness. That this is the final Warm Soda record (in anticipation of his new band Dream Machine’s debut, also forthcoming on Castle Face Records) seems logical when you consider the way he’s re-written the same vibe into 4 excellent records of catchy pop. A lesser talent would have given up after 2 records tops - Melton’s commitment to the platonic ideal of power pop again bears fruit, and dare I say it’s the best yet? Mix tape makers of the world, take note: if you leave the new Warm Soda out of your next amorous transmission to that cute guy or girl you just met, you’re fucking up. "I Don’t Wanna Grow Up" is out on Castle Face Records April 21st.


  1. Young In Your Heart
  2. I Don’t Wanna Grow Up
  3. Tell Me In A Whisper
  4. To Be With Ramona
  5. Don’t Stop Now
  6. Game of Undefined Love
  7. Don’t Leave Me For Another Guy
  8. Run Away With Me
  9. Gumdrop
  10. Tell Me Your Story
  11. This Changes Everything
  12. Angel of Love


Facebook Official Site