Justin Carter The Leaves Fall

Release Date 02/24/2017

(Mister Saturday Night Records )

[javascript protected email address]

“My ambition in all my creative pursuits is to help people lose themselves, whether that’s on a dance floor, in their headphones, or lying on the floor of a loft space.”

A delicate collection of songs for losing yourself, a meditation on spiritual struggle, a window into the parallel reality of Justin Carter: The Leaves Fall is all of those things – and probably more. Centered on his intimate vocals, pointed with hints of Arthur Russell and John Martyn, the eight tracks are buttressed by warm acoustic guitars, vibraphones, and organs and flourished with modern production. They are familiar but distant, like ghosts living in the present.

The Leaves Fall, set for a February 24th 2017 release date on Mister Saturday Night, was written on and off over the course of about five years, a secret to most. Carter is more familiar, alongside Eamon Harkin, as half of popular New York party and record label Mister Saturday Night. As the Mister thrived, his songwriting continued to tick along in the background, days and weeks stolen here and there to write and record in various locations – from remote studios in the Catskills to basements in Venice Beach.

The haunting, contemplative "Know It All" is a curious first gaze into the album, not just showing a new side of Carter as an artist, but hinting at the layers still to be unraveled throughout the rest of the album. "Know It All" will be released as a 7" single November 18th on Mister Saturday Night.

The album features Jason Lindner, pianist on Bowie's final masterpiece, Blackstar; cello from Archie Pelago's Greg Heffernan; and programming by LIES and Trilogy Tapes producer Marcos Cabral. It was mixed by Benjamin Tierney, who also worked his magic on Kamasi Washington's The Epic.

Carter grew up in a country house in rural North Carolina, a place with a pecan tree and abandoned train tracks in the front yard. On long car rides from home to his dad’s work as a school teacher, his ears were filled with the prog of Yes, the vocals of Al Jarreau and the complexity of Christopher Parkening’s take on Bach. It was his father, who himself has moonlighted as a guitar player and songwriter for nearly 50 years, that taught Carter to sing and play in his early teens.

The album finds its context in the world of Mister Saturday Night in a new event series created by Carter and Harkin called Planetarium, a long form event with live music sprinkled amongst hours of records. An immersive, communal listening experience focused on quality hi-fi sound in non-traditional spaces; the album will presented in this manner when toured.

Track List:

01. Great Destroyer
02. Infinite Pieces
03. Know It All
04. With The Old Breed
05. The Island
06. What Can You Tell Your Children About Hope?
07. Leaves
08. A Presence